A little pick-me-up

Teraflex's leveling kit includes four one-inch spacers for the front springs and a pair of similar spacers out back. (Not pictured are the longer front sway bar end links, which were unnecessary for my application.)

Teraflex’s leveling kit includes four one-inch spacers for the front springs and a pair of similar spacers out back. (Not pictured are the longer front sway bar end links, which were unnecessary for my application.)

Consumables. The word refers to products or supplies which have a given life span, after which they are depleted and must be replaced.

In Smokey’s case, the most notable consumable is her tires. I’ve watched as her 32-inch BF Goodrich mud-terrains slowly but inevitably wear away. At their current rate of wear, I anticipate needing to replace them in about nine months. That’s plenty of life left, and plenty of time to plan and prepare, but there’s no way my Jeep budget could absorb a lift, wheels and tires at one time. Then, a little online research got me thinking.

At current market prices, I could move up to a 33- or 34-inch tire for about the same price as purchasing new 32s. (My current tires are Rubicon take-offs, and I’ve decided not to risk buying used tires again.) But, if I were to move up in tire size, I’d risk rubbing Smokey’s fenders when running disconnected on the trail. Oh, a smaller 33-inch might be OK, but a large 33 or 34 definitely could rub.

Fortunately, I found a simple solution that will allow me to increase tire size when the time comes without first installing a full coil spring lift — a 1.5-inch leveling kit.

Teraflex offers an inexpensive leveling kit that consists of four one-inch spring spacers for the front and two one-inch spacers for the rear, along with longer front sway bar links. The end result is a rake-eliminating two inches of additional height out front and a single inch in the rear. Since I already run a set of Teraflex sway bar disconnects, I had no need for the links, and saved money by just ordering the kit’s spacer components.

Look for an installation write-up in the coming weeks. For now, here’s Teraflex’s own installation video:

Leave a Reply

