Poughkeepsie Gulch/Mineral Creek, Ouray/Silverton CO

A well-written experience on Poughkeepsie Gulch! It sounds like the bypass around The Wall will allow much lesser-equipped Jeeps to complete this trail — a win-win in my book. Thanks for sharing this trail report, and for all the photos and videos you included. I’m looking forward to tackling some of the trails in the Ouray-Telluride-Silverton area next year, and I’d assumed Poughkeepsie was beyond my rig’s capabilities. Reading this, I might have to try it after all!

Wheelinoutwest

I had a rough weekend with my rock crawler, so I decided to head to the mountains and run Poughkeepsie Gulch with the rest of my Sunday off.  I can make it to the trailhead in about an hour from my house.  It appeared to be raining, but I decided to head up anyway.  The trailhead starts right outside Ouray, as you are head up Red Mountain pass.  The trail head is on the left right after the scariest part of Red Mountain Pass, this is the spot that has no guard rail, or shoulder for that matter.

IMG_3059

HWY 550

The trail head is on the left, there is a small parking area on the left as well.   There is a large sign that states Alpine Loop, this is the trail head. This trail is Mineral creek, Poughkeepsie starts halfway up this trail on the right, if you stay on Mineral…

View original post 734 more words

Leave a Reply

